Southern Shores’ Participation in Dare County Occupancy Tax

The Town of Southern Shores receives a portion of the Dare County occupancy taxes. The Town does not collect the tax, nor does it receive the full amount of the tax collected from individual rental properties in Southern Shores. For a full explanation of the process of occupancy tax collection and distribution by Dare County, see:


July 17, 2017 - Change in Beach Nourishment Schedule – Nourishment of the Kitty Hawk/Southern Shores beaches is now scheduled to commence in Mid-August.