Planning Board

Members of the Town Planning Board (5) are appointed by the Town Council for three year terms. Two alternates are also appointed by Council for a three year term. An Extraterritorial Jurisdiction representative (ETJ) is appointed by Dare County for a three year term. Meetings are held the 3rd Monday of each month at 5:30 PM in the Pitts center.

The Town’s ETJ for planning and zoning is the commercial area of Martin’s Point community and Ginguite Creek.

The Board’s responsibilities are to maintain and amend a comprehensive plan for the physical development of the area with recommendations presented to Council for the orderly development of the Town. The Board prepares and recommends ordinances or amendments to the existing Zoning Ordinance as needed. An amended and restated zoning ordinance was adopted July 3, 2001. The Board reviews specific proposed development plans to see that they meet the principles and requirements of the comprehensive plan and the zoning ordinance. The Board may perform any of the actions authorized for municipal planning board by North Carolina General Statute including the duties of the Board of Adjustment.

Planning Board Members:

Sam Williams (Chairperson)

Joe McGraw (Vice Chairperson)

Jay Russell

Elizabeth Morey

David Neal

Glenn Wyder (alternate #1)

Carlos Gomez (alternate #2)

John Finelli (ETJ Representative)


2018 PB Meetings & Deadlines

Zoning Text Amendment Application

Zoning Map Amendment Application

Site Plan Review Application

Conditional Use Permit Application

Variance Application

Appeal Application



Town Hall Offices will be closed Monday Feb. 19th for Presidents' Day. Town Hall will reopen Tuesday Feb. 20th. ***NO CHANGE for Recycling or Trash collection***